About Barely SouthSubmission GuidelinesCurrent IssuePast IssuesFeaturesBlog

History and Staff

Barely South Review began as The Dominion Review, an annual student literary journal housed at Old Dominion University in 1983. Following the creation of ODU’s graduate program in Creative Writing in 1994, The Dominion Review became a national journal of literature and the arts that throughout its illustrious run published writers such as Sue William Silverman, Diane Williams, Mark Cox, David Kirby, Carolyn Kreiter-Foronda, Vivian Shipley, Kelly Cherry, Bryan D. Dietrich, and Billy Collins, among others. In 2008, the journal relaunched under the name Barely South Review as an online biannual publication staffed by students of the MFA program with issues every Fall and Spring, as well as a Winter craft-themed interviews issue. Today, BSR continues to featuring innovative new voices alongside well-established writers, and recent writing from the journal has been included in the Best American Series.

2015-2016 Reading and Editorial Collective:

Managing Editor: Caleb True

Fiction Editors: Aaron Lawhon, Caleb True

Fiction Readers: Tyler Beckett, Maggie Libby Davis, Christina Marable, Ethan Ross, Dexter Gore

Poetry Editors: Tom Kelly, Ellie White

Poetry Readers: Mack Curry, Amanda Hyunh, Sarah McCall, Matt Larrimore, Amanda Gomez, Joshua McGarry, Greg Chandler, Abigail Brunt

Nonfiction Editors: Emily Howell

Nonfiction Readers: Greg Larson, Barbara Middlebrook, Kevin Norris, Sheila Sheppard

Editorial Advisory Board: Luisa A. Igloria, John McManus, Michael Pearson, Janet Peery, Sheri Reynolds, Tim Seibles

Design & Typesetting: Travis A. Everett

Barely South Review logo: Josephine A. Carino



about | submissions | present | past | features | blog